You are here:   About the Commission * Board

Liquor Control Commission Board Members

The Commission is comprised of three Commissioners appointed by the Governor for six-year terms and five office staff members listed below:

Deborah Pryce, Chairman
(Appointment dates: 3/2011 through 2/2017)
Deborah Pryce’s legislative and leadership experience includes serving as a member of the United States House of Representatives for Ohio’s 15th Congressional District from 1993 to 2009. From 2003 to 2005, she served as House Conference Chair, making her the highest-ranking Republican woman in the history of the United States House of Representatives. Deborah also served as Deputy Majority Whip.

Prior to her tenure in Congress, Deborah served as a judge on the Franklin County (OH) Municipal Court and as an Assistant City Prosecutor for the City of Columbus. Deborah was the founder of the Hope Street Kids charity, and serves on the Board of Trustees for the Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption and CureSearch for Children’s Cancer.


Paul M. Booth, Vice Chairman

(Appointment dates: 6/2009 through 2/2015)


Prior to his appointment to the Commission in June 2009, Commissioner Booth served a six year term as a Member on the State Personnel Board of Review. Mr. Booth is also a former Cincinnati City Council Member who introduced and passed legislation that created a Housing Court and evening Council Meetings.  During his time as a Member of City Council he served as President Pro Term and was the Chairman for the Neighborhood and Public Service Committees. In addition to his duties as a Commissioner, Booth currently serves on the Grants Committee for the Ronald McDonald House and is on the Board of Trustees for Lighthouse Youth Services. He has also previously served as a Commissioner for the Cincinnati Human Relations Commission and was on the Board of Trustees for the Dan Beard Council, Boy Scouts of America, Citizens Committee on Youth, the Children’s HospitalMedicalCenter and theCincinnatiHillsChristianAcademy. 

James E. Carnes
(Appointment dates: 2/2013 through 2/2019)
Mr. Carnes served as an Ohio State Senator from Ohio’s 20th District from 1995 until 2004.  He was a member of the State Controlling Board from 2001 until 2004.  He is the recipient of awards including:  Outstanding Legislative Leadership Award in 1997; State of Ohio Friend of 4-H Award in 2002; and Legislator of the Year for the Ohio Association of Second Harvest Food Banks in 2002.  He served as Deputy Director for the Ohio Department of Natural Resources from 2004 until 2006.  Mr. Carnes is a founding member and president of the Ohio Valley Christian Soldiers.  He lives in St. Clairsville with his wife, Frankie Lee.


77 South High Street, 18th Floor • Columbus, Ohio 43215
Phone: 614-466-3132 •
Fax: 614-466-4564
Email the Board